After School Activities at Bridges PCS


Bridges Public Charter School offers a variety of after school activities for all students to participate in.  Please learn more about the current programs we offer below:

 

Beyond the Basics After School Program:

Beyond the Basics After School Program provides before care and after care to Bridges PCS students from PK3-5th grade.  The after school program is dedicated to providing quality care to children with and without disabilities.  They are committed to full inclusion and offer play based social skills themed programing.  Details regarding registration can be found at the following website:  http://bridgespcs.org/aftercare/

 

Bridges Energizers Dance Club:

This year Bridges Public Charter School is offering an after school dance program for students in 2nd- 5th grade. The program will be used to promote FUN physical activity. Dancing promotes self-awareness, self-esteem and a safe space for the expression of feelings. The activities in this after school program will be kept age appropriate and is completely optional. Participants are expected to be dressed in proper workout attire which includes but is not limited to; long shorts, loose fitting sweat pants, t-shirts, socks and sneakers. If participants are not able to follow the proper safety precautions, they will be dismissed from the program.  This program will run from October 16- December 20, 2017 on Mondays and Wednesdays after school from 3:45 – 5:00pm in the music room (219).  The Bridge Energizers Dance Club is a FREE after school program and was designed aby two bridges staff members, Sabrina Robinson and Zakiya Lewis.  The dance club has capcity for 20 students.  For more information please contact Sabrina Robinson at  srobinson@bridgespcs.org or Zakiya Lewis at zlewis@bridgespcs.org.

 

FLEX Academies After School Program:

FLEX Academies is an after school program brought to Bridges through the PTO.  They offer a variety of enrichment activities taught by subject matter experts.  They have a Fall and Spring schedule for student participation.  

 

Girls on the Run:

Girls on the Run is a non-profit organization with the mission of educating and preparing girls in grades 3-8 for a lifetime of self-respect and healthy living. The innovative program combines training for a 5K running event with lessons that help adolescent girls build confidence, develop healthy lifestyles, and be better able to succeed throughout their lives.  This year practices will be held on Tuesdays and Thursdays.  The 5K running event is scheduled for Sunday, November 19th at Anacostia Park.  For more information please contact one of the coaches below:

Brittany Tate-Alvarez btate-alvarez@bridgespcs.org
Ashley Geohaghan ageohaghan@bridgespcs.org
Ashlee Williams awilliams@bridgespcs.org
Katie Flack kflack@bridgespcs.org