The Ducklings  |  Pre-Kindergarten


 
 

Ashley Prileou

What name do you go by at Bridges?: Ms. Ashley

Where did you go to school and what did you study?: I attended the University of South Carolina where I received a BS degree in Experimental Psychology with a minor in General Education. I furthered my studies at George Washington University and received my MA in Early Childhood Education: Special Education. From both universities, I gained not only the proper knowledge but hands on experience to excel as an educator.

What do you like best about working in education?: I love the kids!

What is your favorite part of the school day?:

What do you like best about Bridges, your classroom, or your teaching team?: I love my teaching team! Why? We worked together and we have fun. Everyone's first priority is the students, and we all believe learning should be engaging, interactive, and fun. Numerous activities use current technology and play-based learning to create the ultimate education experience.

What were you like when you were a kid?: I was a very shy student, but very much a tom boy. I loved to climb trees and catch different types of critters. I loved to be outdoors exploring my environment and visiting numerous places.

Kristen Williams

What name do you go by at Bridges?: Ms. Kristen

Tell us a little about yourself.: I have worked around children all my life. I helped care for my cousins children growing up and started off babysitting. I have over 15 god children, nieces, and
nephews the oldest being 13 that I help raise daily. Growing up in a family full of educators I was born to be an educator. Like everybody says, its in my blood. I have been at Bridges for 7 school years as a DUCKLING. I started working at a private day care center in 12th grade as a sub for all grade levels (6 weeks - 12 years of age) for 1 year. Then went to Andrews Air Force Base where I started working as a sub for all grade levels and then was permanently placed in Infants for 3 years. Seeing my students (new and old) every day makes my day complete and I appreciate Bridges for bringing me in and introducing me to a whole new world of Special Education because it has captured my heart and I LOVE IT!!!!

Where did you go to school and what did you study?: Kaplan University - Early Childhood Administration

What do you like best about working in education?: What I love best about working in education is knowing that I helped make a difference in a child's life. We do a lot of one on one work in non-cat and being able to see the progress from the beginning of the school year to the end and knowing I helped along with the parents to get their child to where they are is very rewarding for me. To have my parents come to me and say things like "THANK YOU for all that you do for my child, they are doing this and they are doing that and we are so happy with the progress they are making" is what keeps me coming back everyday and every school year.

What is your favorite part of the school day?: My favorite part of the school day is every minute I am working in my classroom. Working in non-cat you never know what may happen. You can be in center time and a non verbal student will yell out a word and it can bring you to tears. During table time you can have that student that has been working on an operant for a month and one day they pick it up and master that program. You just never know what can happen in our classroom at any given moment so I love every single part of my day.

What do you like best about Bridges, your classroom, or your teaching team?: What I absolutely LOVE best about my teaching team the DUCKLINGS, is that every single 1 of us is here for our students. We all pitch in and help when needed. The teacher assistants has been a DA and the DA has been a teacher assistant. The teacher assistants and DA work with the lead to make sure everything is prepared for the leads lessons. Anytime help is needed somebody jumps right in to help...no matter the task. The DA has never been just a DA. If somebody was out, she always helped out where needed. She has planned lessons when needed. She has been the lead on occasions. We ALL work together and its never that's her job, or that's her job, its always "OK" I will do it!

What were you like when you were a kid?: As a child, I was the bubbly outgoing but shy kid. Was a girl scout for 9 years. Took cooking classes, played soccer, played basketball, played the piano, played the clarinet, did tap dance, did ballet, and a number of other things. What I did a lot as a child was play school with my younger sister. All my aunts were educators (early childhood up to high school) and they would let us help grade their papers or create fun things for their students to do and that is where I got my love for education. I would set up my dolls with my sister and do attendance, give them worksheets, and then grade them and score their grades in my grade book.

 

Devon Boone